An interesting Face Book experience.

So today I was informed that I am no longer part of the Ballymena Family History Group on Face Book. I am still laughing. Apparently because I don’t have time to post to the group or list my information I am not allowed to follow the conversations. I have never heard of a Face Book group like that. Who Knew??? I find nothing on the sign up page to tell me I had better post or else.

When I think of the hours of work my sister and I put into getting record books placed at the Braid museum, two trips from the U.S. to Ballymena to take pictures, record transcription, and recruiting Alistair Mccartney to redo the pictures and talking to him about spearheading the transcription project, I wonder if that wasn’t enough of a benefit to the Ballymena Family History Society to give me a pass into their little Face Book Group. Guess not. Am I insulted – yes. This doesn’t seem to me to be in the spirit of any genealogy group I have ever known.

The reason I am laughing is today I started thinking about the great newspaper clippings and death cards Kate Connelly has been adding to the Coleraine Branch FB page. I have some death card pictures from Ireland for families that I am not related to. I haven’t posted them on my blog because they are not my ancestors and I have been busy. So I thought I should maybe post them on the Ballymena FB page. Guess not.

2 Responses to “An interesting Face Book experience.”

  1. Robert Robinson Says:

    so sorry you have been snubbed by this group, of which I am a member. I won’t try to make excuses at this time but I will ask questions the first opportunity which comes my way. Don’t despair of us just yet!

    • genealogygirl Says:

      Hi Robert

      Thanks for the comment. In all my years of doing genealogy, this was the most bizarre thing I have had happen. Maggie Lyttle indicated it was her Facebook group and she can make the rules. I have gotten over being insulted. Life goes on. 🙂

      Anne

Leave a Reply

